Graduate at world-leading solar research institutions

University of Freiburg

The Albert-Ludwigs University of Freiburg (ALU) is a highly regarded teaching and research university which features within the top 10 % of German universities (QS World University Rankings 2019; Times Higher Education - World University Rankings 2019). Over 25,000 students are currently studying at ALU, 4000 of whom come from a wide variety of countries across the globe.

Founded in 1457, the University of Freiburg is one of the oldest universities in Germany and prides itself of having a total of 10 Nobel Prize laureates who have researched and taught under its roof. Situated in Europe’s Solar Capital the University of Freiburg depicts itself internationally as Solar-Uni© and has always regarded environmental protection and research as paramount. In 2007 photovoltaic systems were fitted on university roofs in the course of one of the biggest solar roof programmes of the county at that time. In the same year the Centre for Renewable Energies (Zentrum für Erneuerbare Energien - ZEE) was founded. The aforementioned   promotes interdisciplinary research across the university and partners with several research institutes and higher education institutions.

In 2018 the university raised close to 200 million Euros in third party funding which underlines its first class reputation and outstanding scientific significance.

Fraunhofer Institute for
Solar Engineering

The Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE in Freiburg was founded in 1981 This Institute is dedicated to promoting a sustainable, economic, safe and socially just energy system throughout the world. With an annual research budget of over 100 million Euros and employing over 1200 members of staff it constitutes Europe’s largest research institute in solar energy.

Super modern equipment and laboratories stretch over an area of more than 16.000 square metres and form the basis of cutting-edge research and development in the area of energy conversion, energy efficiency, energy distribution and energy storage.

In an Age where climate change and diminishing fossil fuel reserves present one of the biggest challenges of the planet, Fraunhofer ISE - in close collaboration with the industry - pioneers the design of new products, systems and services and introduces new promising technology into society.

Management Team

Program Coordination - Leave

Philipp Bucher

bucher@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203-97938

Program Coordination

Christine Paasch

paasch@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203-97938

Educational Office

Barbara Gumbert

gumbert@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203-98655

Administration

Daniel Hiekel

hiekel@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203-7220

Didactic advisor

Sebastian Illner

illner@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203 97938

Technical E-Learning Support

Daniel Sassiat, MA

sassiat@studysolar.uni-freiburg.de

T: +49 761 203-4683

Contact Middle East

Mohammadreza Aghaei

mohammadreza.aghaei@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Program Director

Prof. Dr. Leonhard M. Reindl

reindl@imtek.uni-freiburg.de

Program Director

Prof. Dr. Stefan Glunz

stefan.glunz@inatech.uni-freiburg.de